2019 INWEPF-PAWEES Homepage Greetings

Welcome, INWEPF-PAWEES Members !

We are very pleased to host the 「2019 INWEPF-PAWEES Joint Symposium」 in Seoul, the capital of Korea with 5,000 years of history.

In response to climate change, the international community is making great efforts not only for sustainable development such as expanded use of green energy, including greenhouse gas emission reduction and solar heat, but also for efficient use and management of limited water resources. In order to respond to the efforts of the international community, Korea has chosen the theme of this symposium as 「New, Green and Smart Paradigm of Agricultural Water.」

To achieve this goal, Korea will continue to cooperate with the INWEPF member countries, in actively pursuing the common interests of Asian rice farming countries in the international community.

From the 1960s to the 1990s, Korea has developed into a donor country from a recipient country, with the remarkable growth in the agricultural sector.
Seoul, the venue for the INWEPF-PAWEES Joint Symposium in 2019, has been the capital of Korea for about 600 years and grown into an international city today as the center of politics, administration, economy, culture and transportation.

I hope that you will visit Seoul and enjoy the beauty of Korea, and this even
t will be a forum for the exchange of policies and technologies among INWEPF and PAWEES member countries for the development of agricultural sector.
I would like to extend my heartfelt gratitude to INWEPF and PAWEES member countries who have given the opportunity to host the 16th INWEPF Steering Committee Meeting (second co-hosting with PAWEES), the third time this year, following the 2nd INWEPF Steering Committee Meeting in 2005 and the 7th INWEPF Steering Committee Meeting(first co-hosting with PAWEES).

We are looking forward to seeing you in Seoul and assure you that the Joint Symposium will be fruitful and enjoyable.

Thank you.
May 1, 2019
Mr. In Jung, KIM
Director General for Food Grain Policy Bureau, MAFRA
(Chair of INWEPF Korean Committee)