Host Country, Korea

  • Korea is situated on the Korean Peninsula, which spans 1,100 kilometers north to south. The Korean Peninsula lies on the northeastern section of the Asian continent, where Korean waters are joined by the western-most parts of the Pacific.
    The peninsula shares its northern border with China and Russia. To its east is the East Sea, beyond which neighboring Japan lies. In addition to the mainland peninsula, Korea includes some 3,000 islands.
    Located in a temperate zone and blessed with four distinct seasons, Korea, once known as the “Land of the Morning Calm”, is a country that boasts a rapidly growing economy that combines the old and the new. Being a fascinating country with 5,000 years of history, Korea blends harmoniously its rich heritage with new advances and modernizations.

More Information +


Korea lies in a temperate zone and has four distinct seasons.

  • AUTUMN The coming of autumn in late September brings continental winds and clear, dry weather, making these months perhaps the most pleasant time of year.
    October's vivid gold and vibrant reds create a colorful panorama.

National Flag

  • TAEGEUKGI The Korean flag is called taegeukgi. The design symbolizes the principles of the yin and yang in Asian philosophy.
    The circle in the center of the flag is divided into two equal parts. The red half represents the proactive cosmic forces of the yang.
    Conversely, the blue half represents the responsive cosmic forces of the yin. The two forces together embody the concepts of continual movement, balance, and harmony that characterize the sphere of infinity.
    The circle is surrounded by four trigrams, one in each corner. Each trigram symbolizes one of the four universal elements: Heaven, Earth, Fire and water.

National Flower

  • MUGUNGHWA The national flower of Korea is the mugunghwa (Rose of Sharon).
    Every year from July to October, a profusion of mugunghwa blossoms graces the entire country.
    The flower's symbolic significance stems from the Korean word mugung (immortality).


  • HANGEUL The Korean language like Hungarian, Turkish, Mongolian and Finnish, is classified into the Ural-Altaic language group.
    Hangeul (the Korean alphabet) is composed of 10 simple vowels and 14 consonants. A group of scholars under the of King Sejong the Great developed this systematic rendition of spoken sound in 1443. It is widely acclaimed by linguists as an ingenious invention.
    In 2009, the town of Bau-Bau, in Sulawesi, Indonesia adopted Hangeul as their official written language.

Travel Hotline

  • Need Korea travel information? Just Call 1330.